HomeAbout UsLogan County NewsLogan County Meetings and AgendasRoad Crossing PermitsContact Us
Logan County District 1Logan County District 2Logan County District 3

Welcome to Logan County, OK

Logan County was, appropriately enough, designated as County No. 1 when Oklahoma Territory was organized May 2, 1890. Its county seat, Guthrie, was a favorite target for settlers when the Unassigned Lands of Indian Territory were opened to homestead settlement April 22, 1889.

Not only was Guthrie designated as the county's seat, it was designated territorial capital when the territory was established. It remained the territorial capital and was the first state capital from statehood, November 16, 1907 until the election of June 11, 1910 "stole" the capital for Oklahoma City.

The name Logan was chosen by the voters for the county in a vote of August, 1890. The name was selected to honor General John A. Logan, beloved leader in the Civil War and senator from Illinois who later, as commander of the Grand Army of the Republic, succeeded in establishing Memorial Day as a national observance.

Places of interest to view throughout the year include the historic downtown district of Guthrie, Oklahoma Territorial Museum, the State Capitol Printing Museum, and the Scottish Rite Temple. The latter edifice, built on land set aside by the original settlers as a site for the future state capital, is the largest free-standing building devoted to the Scottish Rite Masonry in the United States. It was built in 1922 and acclaimed an architectural gem.


Copyright ©2008-2015 Logan County, Oklahoma. All Rights Reserved. • Site by WSI Internet Consulting